The Sierra Club Gave Me a Voice

I just launched a campaign to raise money for the Sierra Club.

I’ve been supporting the Sierra Club through my membership and by volunteering on campaigns I care about since 2013, and now I’m asking you to help.

Contribute to my campaign to support the Sierra Club here.

I support the Sierra Club because I’ve seen first hand how the club protects our land and our natural resources. I’ve seen how the club’s activism has protected wetlands in South Georgia from bad development, and I’ve seen how the club’s people power has persuaded the federal government to keep unnecessary roads out of the Upper Warwoman Watershed.

I support the Sierra Club because it gives people a voice to protect the environment. The Sierra Club provides the resources citizen activists need to stand up to powerful interests.

I support the Sierra Club because it has given me a voice. The Sierra Club gave me the voice to speak at a Georgia DNR board meeting to urge the state to protect the waters of the Chattahoochee, and the Sierra Club gave me a voice to lead a campaign against a logging project at Cooper Creek.

wpid-20150927_110645.jpg
A stand of trees in the Cooper Creek Watershed in North Georgia.

I support the Sierra Club because I want to protect Cumberland Island from development and because I want a 21st-century transportation infrastructure and a green energy system that can finally move us beyond coal.

20170315_161605
A potential corridor for new transit in Atlanta

I started as a volunteer who just showed up to a meeting one night, and the Sierra Club gave me an opportunity to do so much more. Opportunity is a rare gift, but the Sierra Club gave me the opportunity to be an issue leader and then gave me the opportunity to serve the Georgia Chapter as a member of its Executive Committee.

That’s why I support the Sierra Club. It’s not just about protecting the environment. It’s about protecting the environment in a way that includes everyday people in the process, so if those are principles you value, a clean environment and the democratic process, then I hope you’ll join me in supporting the Sierra Club.

Please, click here to contribute whatever you can to my goal of raising $2,000 for the Sierra Club so that we can all be a voice for our environment.

Leave a Reply

